JMPR Banner JMPR Home Sanctuaries Home


Final Environmental Impact Statement

Press Kit

Press Releases & Notices

Links to Sanctuary Websites

Frequently Asked Questions

Archived Documents

Scoping Process

At the onset of Joint Management Plan Review, the National Marine Sanctuary Program (NMSP) held public meetings to "scope out" or get input from resource users, interest groups, government agencies, and other members of the public on resource management issues. This input helped define the range of issues that the program needs to address during the management plan review.

From November 28, 2001, to January 17, 2002, scoping meetings were held in 20 locations throughout the three-sanctuary region, from Gualala in Sonoma County to Cambria in San Luis Obispo County, and one each in Sacramento and Washington, D.C.

Please click on the list to view a summary of the issues rasied during the following scoping meetings.

Scoping Meeting Archive
Date Location Time Summary of Comments
Nov. 28, Wednesday Santa Cruz, CA
1:00 p.m. &
6:30 p.m
Santa Cruz 1:00 PM Comments

Santa Cruz 6:30 PM Comments

Nov. 29, Thursday Monterey, CA 
1:00 p.m. &
6:30 p.m
Monterey 1:00 PM comments

Monterey 6:30 PM comments

Dec. 1, Saturday Salinas, CA  1:00 p.m Salinas Comments
Dec. 3, Monday San Luis Obispo, CA 6:30 p.m San Luis Obispo Comments
Dec. 4, Tuesday Cambria, CA 6:30 p.m Cambria Comments
Dec. 5, Wednesday Big Sur, CA 6:30 p.m Big Sur Comments
Dec. 6, Thursday Half Moon Bay, CA 6:30 p.m Half Moon Bay Comments
Dec. 7, Friday Half Moon Bay, CA 8:30 a.m Half Moon Bay SAC Mtg. Comments
Dec. 11, Tuesday Sacramento, CA 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. Sacramento Comments
Dec. 14, Friday Washington, D.C. 10:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. Washington, DC Comments
Jan. 7, Monday Gualala, CA 6:30 p.m. Gualala Comments
Jan. 8, Tuesday Bodega Bay, CA 6:30 p.m. Bodega Bay Comments
Jan. 9, Wednesday Pt. Reyes Station, CA 7:30 p.m. Pt. Reyes Station Comments
Jan. 10, Thursday San Rafael, CA 6:30 p.m. San Rafael Comments
Jan. 14, Monday Rohnert Park, CA
(near Santa Rosa)
6:30 p.m. Rohnert Park Comments
Jan. 15, Tuesday San Francisco, CA 6:30 p.m. San Francisco Comments
Jan. 16, Wednesday Pacifica 6:30 p.m. Pacifica Comments
Jan. 17, Thursday San Jose  6:30 p.m. San Jose Comments

NOAA logo

National Ocean Service | National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
U.S. Department of Commerce | NOAA Library | Privacy Policy
Contact Us

Many links leave the National Marine Sanctuary Web Site - please view our Link Disclaimer for more information