Visiting the Sanctuaries

In 1972, exactly one hundred years after the first national park was created, the nation made a similar commitment to preserving its marine treasures by establishing the National Marine Sanctuary Program. Since then, thirteen national marine sanctuaries and one marine national monument, representing a wide variety of ocean environments, have been established.

National Marine Sanctuaries map papahanaumokuakea Stellwagen Bank Olympic Coast Hawaii Humpback Whales Montereybay Monitor Gulf of Farallones Gray Reef Flower Garden Florida Keys Fagatele Bay Cordell Bank Channel Islands Thunder Bay

Today, our marine sanctuary system encompass deep ocean gardens, nearshore coral reefs, whale migration corridors, deep sea canyons, and even underwater archeological sites. To learn more about a specific sanctuary site, click its name on the map above and explore their web sites. To read about the sanctuary's regions, click the region links in the navigation bar.

leaving site indicates a link leaves the site. Please view our Link Disclaimer for more information.
Revised June 21, 2013 by Sanctuaries Web Team | Contact Us | Web Site Owner: National Ocean Service
National Ocean Service | National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration | Privacy Policy | For Employees | User Survey