Sanctuary Nomination Process

Pacific Islands Region

American Samoa Designated a Preserve America Community

The entire Territory of American Samoa has been designated a Preserve America Community by First Lady Michelle Obama. The Territory of American Samoa's Preserve America application was written and developed with assistance from Fagatele Bay National Marine Sanctuary and the Pacific Islands Region of the Office of the National Marine Sanctuaries. For more information about the Preserve America program, contact

Click here to read the press release.

leaving site indicates a link leaves the site. Please view our Link Disclaimer for more information.
Revised July 31, 2017 by Sanctuaries Web Team | Contact Us | Web Site Owner: National Ocean Service
National Ocean Service | National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration | Privacy Policy | For Employees | User Survey