Webinar Series

photo of collage of deep coral sea life

The National Marine Sanctuaries Webinar Series provides educators, students, and the interested public with educational and scientific expertise, resources and training to support ocean and climate literacy. This series generally targets formal and informal educators that are engaging students (elementary through college) in formal classroom settings, as well as members of the community in informal educational venues (e.g. after school programs, science centers, aquariums, etc.). However, the series is open to anyone interested in the topics listed below.

For distance learning programs about marine mammals and other protected species in the wild, please visit our Wildlife Viewing Guidelines and the NOAA Fisheries Office of Protected Resources' Marine Life Viewing Guidelines to ensure you are aware of the regulations.


Upcoming Webinars

various photos of people working with rovs

Engineering in the Classroom with Underwater Remotely Operated Vehicles

July 15, 2021 at 10 am Hawaii / 1 pm Pacific / 3 pm Central / 4 pm Eastern

Shannon Ricles, Education and Outreach Coordinator for Monitor National Marine Sanctuary

Want to do engineering in your classroom? Through the excitement of underwater remotely operated vehicles (ROVs), Shannon Ricles will introduce educators to an exciting avenue for teaching engineering and design, while learning about our nation’s maritime heritage through the mystery of shipwrecks. Using problem-based learning and a plethora of activities using simple materials, learn how to help your students understand engineering design and the science behind ROVs, including Newton’s Laws of Motion, buoyancy, air pressure, Archimedes’ Principle, and more.

During this presentation, learn how to help your students design, engineer, build, and test an ROV to better understand the engineering process. With step-by-step instructions, learn how to create affordable reusable kits and how to implement the program into your classroom with as little as three class hours. The free ROV curriculum also guides you in engaging your students to connect to the scientists and maritime archaeologists of NOAA and Monitor National Marine Sanctuary. Discover how NOAA uses ROV technology in the real world to explore the Deep Ocean and search for historical shipwrecks. A complete set of free lesson plans filled with hands-on activities is showcased.

Although this webinar is aimed at educators, anyone interested in attending is welcomed to join us!

Register


sea turtle and researcher measuring the a turtle

Hawaiian Honu take on Climate Change: Signs of a Fragile Recovery

July 15, 2021 at 12 pm Hawaiʻi / 3 pm Pacific / 6 pm Eastern

Marylou Staman, NOAA Marine Turtle Biology and Assessment Program Marine Science Coordinator

Residing in the most geographically isolated island chain on the planet, the Hawaiian green sea turtle (known as honu in the Hawaiian Islands) population has been monitored by NOAA Fisheries' Marine Turtle Biology and Assessment Program for the last 45 years. Approximately 96 percent of the population nests on the islets of Lalo (French Frigate Shoals) in the Papahānaumokuākea Marine National Monument. The long-term tagging study has produced a wealth of information about the status and trends of nesting females in the Hawaiian islands. There remains, however, limited data to assess the potential effects of climate change. Join Marylou Staman as she shares what we've learned so far, and what current research projects are building the foundation for understanding the population's resilience to climate change.

Marylou Staman is the leader of the NOAA Marine Turtle Biology and Assessment Program's green sea turtle population assessment project in the Papahānaumokuākea Marine National Monument. As the leader of the field research, she has spent a total of 12 months living at Lalo over the past four years, where her favorite activities include stargazing and working with the hatchlings.

This presentation is part of the Third Thursday By the Bay Presentation Series at Mokupāpapa Discovery Center, which is the visitor center for Papahānaumokuākea Marine National Monument in Hilo, Hawaiʻi. This State of the Monument lecture series is also supported by the National Marine Sanctuary Foundation through a grant from the National Fish and Wildlife Foundation.

Register


people in a museum

Diving into Diversity

July 20, 2021 at 10 am Pacific / 12 pm Central / 1 pm Eastern

Lori Sanderlin and Katy Menne, North Carolina Maritime Museum at Southport

Looking for ways to reach and engage a wider and more diverse audience and/or students? Gain some summer inspiration with Lori Sanderlin and Katy Menne of the North Carolina Maritime Museum at Southport.

Navigate your way to this live webinar as Lori and Katy discuss how their small museum in southeastern North Carolina took on the big topic of Diversity, Equity, Accessibility, and Inclusion, with a special look at Accessibility and Inclusion. The museum is the first Certified Autism Center in the state of North Carolina and welcomes visitors of all abilities and their families.

Tune in for a unique take on how the maritime field can be adapted to reach a wider, more diverse audience. Learn how this small staff of three took on adapting programs, creating an American Sign Language (ASL) tour, and making physical alterations to create a more welcoming and inclusive experience for individuals and families with sensory sensitivities or special needs.

Register