Webinar Series

fish swimming around a coral reef

The National Marine Sanctuaries Webinar Series provides educators, students, and the interested public with educational and scientific expertise, resources and training to support ocean and climate literacy. This series generally targets formal and informal educators that are engaging students (elementary through college) in formal classroom settings, as well as members of the community in informal educational venues (e.g. after school programs, science centers, aquariums, etc.). However, the series is open to anyone interested in the topics listed below.

For distance learning programs about marine mammals and other protected species in the wild, please visit our Wildlife Viewing Guidelines and the NOAA Fisheries Office of Protected Resources' Marine Life Viewing Guidelines to ensure you are aware of the regulations.


Upcoming Webinars

An underwater scene of a vibrant coral reef ecosystem in American Samoa with two scuba divers.

Exploring Ocean Mysteries: From Dynamic Shores to the Deep-Sea

February 20, 2024 at 1 pm Hawaii / 3 pm Pacific / 5 pm Central / 6 pm Eastern

Rick and Krista Reynolds of Engaging Every Student and Tracy Hajduk of the nOAA Office of National Marine Sanctuaries

What do world-traveling plastic toys, biodiversity in the deep sea, climate change and the last great unexplored area on Earth have in common? The critical need for ocean literacy! Learning about the ocean is often neglected in our schools, yet it comprises 71% of Earth's surface. Life on Earth evolved in and depends on our global ocean.

Learn more about the new curriculum, Exploring Ocean Mysteries: From Dynamic Shores to the Deep Sea. The lessons focus on the seven Ocean Literacy Principles, Climate Literacy, and use the National Marine Sanctuary System as an engaging backdrop that helps students understand their importance for exploration, research, Indigenous cultures, and more. The lessons and supporting resources have been created by NOAA's Office of National Marine Sanctuaries in collaboration with Engaging Every Student, supported by funding from the National Geographic Society and the National Marine Sanctuary Foundation.

Register