Get Into Your Sanctuary Weekend Events

We are excited to announce that this year Get Into Your Sanctuary weekend is going virtual! Join us from July 31 to August 2 for a unique opportunity to experience all of NOAA's National Marine Sanctuary System from wherever you are. From taking an ocean safari to virtually diving through shipwrecks to learning how to cook sustainably from a professional chef, there will be something for everyone to enjoy!

Tune into our LIVE Get Into Your Sanctuary programming July 31 to August 2 by visiting our Facebook page!

July 31st

Explore the Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary

8 AM SST / 9 AM HST / 12 PM PDT / 2 PM CDT / 3 PM EDT

sea turtle and diver
Photo by 2019 GIYS photo contest winner, Olivia Williamson.

Dive into Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary to experience North America's only living continental barrier coral reef. Visit with some of 6,000 species that call this unique ecosystem home, and learn how to become a steward of this national treasure through responsible recreation and leave no trace principles.

 


Flower Garden Banks National Marine Sanctuary: Lionfish - From Reef Raiders to Tasty Treats

lionfish
Photo by NOAA.

9 AM SST / 10 AM HST / 1 PM PDT / 3 PM CDT / 4 PM EDT

Flower Garden Banks National Marine Sanctuary is partnering with Kitchen Chick in Galveston, Texas to help you "Get Into Your Sanctuary" in a mouthwatering way! Join us to learn about invasive lionfish and why we are removing them from the sanctuary's coral reefs. Then, discover what a tasty treat they make so you can Eat 'Em to Beat 'Em! 

We'll provide a list of ingredients ahead of time so that you can cook along with Alicia during the program. Other white fish will work in place of lionfish too!

 


The Seabirds of Cordell Bank National Marine Sanctuary

seabird in flight over the water
Photo by NOAA.

10 AM SST / 11 AM HST / 2 PM PDT / 4 PM CDT / 5 PM EDT

Seabirds that live their entire lives at sea (except for one very special time of the year!) have tremendous stories to tell about the health and ecology of the global ocean. What makes a seabird a seabird? What can you do to help seabirds? Learn about the amazing travels of Black-footed and Laysan Albatrosses in the Pacific Ocean and how you can see them in Cordell Bank National Marine Sanctuary.

 


Photographing the Seabirds of Stellwagen National Marine Sanctuary

a group of sheawater resting on the water
Photo by NOAA.

11 AM SST / 12 PM HST / 3 PM PDT / 5 PM CDT / 6 PM EDT

Expert bird photographer Peter Flood, a volunteer with the Stellwagen Sanctuary Seabird Stewards program at Stellwagen National Marine Sanctuary, will relate stories of capturing sanctuary seabirds in images. He will also review the diversity of seabirds in local waters using his collection of amazing photographs.

 


Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary: Explore & Discover Sunken Legacies

12 PM SST / 1 PM HST / 4 PM PDT / 6 PM CDT / 7 PM EDT

historical photo of the cuba and a view of the wreck of the cuba
Photo by Robert Schwemmer/NOAA.

Hear stories of the oldest shipwrecks recorded in Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary: the passenger vessel Winfield Scott which collided with Anacapa Island, and the passenger-cargo steamer Cuba which struck rocks off San Miguel Island. Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary has more than 150 historic ships and aircraft that have been reported lost within its waters.

 


Papahānaumokuākea National Marine Monument: Connection Through and to the Ocean

fish swimming
Photo by NOAA.

1 PM SST / 2 PM HST / 5 PM PDT / 7 PM CDT / 8 PM EDT

The Hawaiian Proverb “Kui ‘ia ka lei moku e Kanaloa” translates to “The islands are strung together as lei by Kanaloa, god of the sea.” During these extraordinary times, the ocean has been a source of comfort, recreation, and provision for those in need. Now is the time to stand together to protect our ocean legacy for ourselves and for future generations. Explore Papahānaumokuākea Marine National Monument, see the impact of marine debris on the monument, and reflect on our everyday actions and choices and their connection to the natural world.

 


Connecting Conservation and Culture with National Marine Sanctuary of American Samoa

coral reef in american samoa
Photo by Greg McFall.

2 PM SST / 3 PM HST / 6 PM PDT / 8 PM CDT / 9 PM EDT

Travel to National Marine Sanctuary of American Samoa through a virtual tour! Learn about responsible recreation in the sanctuary, local culture, and ocean stewardship. Dive underwater in Fagatele Bay to take a look at the fish and coral that live there. Plus, learn about local food through a cooking demonstration of fa’ausi from Aunu’u! Interact with the hosts in the comments and learn more about the beautiful American Samoa.

 


August 1st

Thunder Bay National Marine Sanctuary: Tour of the Great Lakes Maritime Heritage Center/ Trail

snorkelers swimming over a shipwreck
Photo by David J. Ruck.

4 AM SST / 5 AM HST / 8 AM PDT / 10 AM CDT / 11 AM EDT

Thunder Bay National Marine Sanctuary has one of the most accessible collections of historic shipwrecks in the entire world, well-preserved in the cold, fresh water of the Great Lakes. Join sanctuary staff LIVE on the shores of Lake Huron as they explore the many ways paddlers, snorkelers, divers, and even glass bottom boaters can experience America's rich, maritime history.

 


Introducing the Newest National Marine Sanctuary!

kayakers paddling by shipwrecks
Photo by NOAA.

5 AM SST / 6 AM HST / 9 AM PDT / 11 AM CDT / 12 PM EDT

Learn about the first national marine sanctuary designated for the first time in nearly 20 years. Mallows Bay-Potomac River National Marine Sanctuary is most renowned for its "Ghost Fleet," the partially submerged remains of more than 100 wooden steamships that were built in response to threats from World War I-era German U-boats that were sinking ships in the Atlantic.

 


Take a wildlife cruise in Greater Farallones National Marine Sanctuary and beyond!

view of farallones islands from a distance
Photo by Peter Winch.

6 AM SST / 7 AM HST / 10 AM PDT / 12 PM CDT / 1 PM EDT

Join us for an adventure into the waters of Greater Farallones National Marine Sanctuary. Traveling under the Golden Gate Bridge, we will journey 27 miles offshore to the intriguing Farallon Islands and, seas permitting, beyond! While underway we will see humpback and blue whales, seabirds such as the tufted puffin and common murre, seals, sea lions, dolphins, sharks, and other ocean wildlife!

 


Dive into the recreational opportunities at Gray's Reef National Marine Sanctuary

diver swimming by a reef covered in sponges, gorgonians and fish
Photo by Greg McFall.

7 AM SST / 8 AM HST / 11 AM PDT / 1 PM CDT / 2 PM EDT

Emerging technologies used in Gray's Reef National Marine Sanctuary are making your trip to the sanctuary safer and more enjoyable. We invite scientists, divers, and fishermen to talk about the technologies they regularly use at Gray's Reef to best utilize our research area and the fishing and diving available off Georgia's coast.

 


Exploring Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary

three humpback whales swimming near just under the surface of the water
Photo by Ed Lyman.

8 AM SST / 9 AM HST / 12 PM PDT / 2 PM CDT / 3 PM EDT

Please join us as we take a tour of the Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary visitor centers on Maui and Kauai, some of the awesome sanctuary sites on the Oahua, and Molokai, accompany a researcher out on the water and learn how you disentangle a whale.

 


Monitor National Marine Sanctuary: Explore the historic USS Monitor

painting depicting the battle of the monitor and the merrimac
Photo by NOAA.

9 AM SST / 10 AM HST / 1 PM PDT / 3 PM CDT / 4 PM EDT

Travel back in time to 1862 and learn about the USS Monitor, the Union’s first ironclad. Discover why it was built, the importance of the first battle between ironclads, and how Monitor met its demise. Learn who found the ship in 1973, and how it became our first national marine sanctuary. To learn more, visit monitor.noaa.gov

 


Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary: Cooking the Quintessential Seafood Chowder 

bread bowl filled with seafood chowder

10 AM SST / 11 AM HST / 2 PM PDT / 4 PM CDT / 5 PM EDT

Join the winner of the Quintessential Olympic Peninsula Seafood Chowder Contest Ronald Wisner (aka Captain Ron), along with the Olympic Culinary Loop Director Steve Shively, as we dive in for a live cooking demonstration that you can follow along at home. This delectable recipe will make your mouth water while celebrating the riches of Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary! Ronald Wisner is the Executive Chef at Ocean Crest Resort in Moclips, Washington and will share his award-winning recipe, along with other secrets from his kitchen to yours. Get a sneak peak at Chef Ron's recipe here. Details of the "Quest for THE Olympic Peninsula Chowder Recipe!" can be found here.

 


Your Adventure in Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary Starts Here!

diver swimming through a kelp forest
Photo by Nathan Coy.

11 AM SST / 12 PM HST / 3 PM PDT / 5 PM CDT / 6 PM EDT

Come recreate in Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary from your own home through a virtual and immersive tour of the site using GoPro clips. Please join us as we scuba dive in a kelp forest, kayak on the water, and surf down a crashing wave!

 


August 2nd

Thunder Bay National Marine Sanctuary: Tour of the Great Lakes Maritime Heritage Center/ Trail

paddle boarder over the wreck of the albany
Photo by GIYS Contest Winner 2018, Bryan Dort.

4 AM SST / 5 AM HST / 8 AM PDT / 10 AM CDT / 11 AM EDT

Thunder Bay National Marine Sanctuary has one of the most accessible collections of historic shipwrecks in the entire world, well-preserved in the cold, fresh water of the Great Lakes. Join sanctuary staff LIVE on the shores of Lake Huron as they explore the many ways paddlers, snorkelers, divers, and even glass bottom boaters can experience America's rich, maritime history.

 


Monitor National Marine Sanctuary: A virtual tour of the USS Monitor

model of the uss monitor outside The Mariners' Museum and Park
Photo by NOAA.

5 AM SST / 6 AM HST / 9 AM PDT / 11 AM CDT / 12 PM EDT

Join us on a virtual tour of the many tourist attractions in Hampton Roads that tell Monitor's story. Discover The Mariners' Museum and Park, the primary museum and conservation facility for the USS Monitor's artifacts. Explore Monitor-Merrimac Overlook Park, Fort Monroe, and more. Visit monitor.noaa.gov for more information.

 


Discover Recreation Fishing and Diving at Gray's Reef National Marine Sanctuary!

man on a boat holding up a fish he caught
Photo by Wesley Nichols/TheExcursionTV.

6 AM SST / 7 AM HST / 10 AM PDT / 12 PM CDT / 1 PM EDT

Emerging technologies used in Gray's Reef National Marine Sanctuary are making your trip to the sanctuary safer and more enjoyable. We invite scientists, divers, and fishermen to talk about the technologies they regularly use at Gray's Reef to best utilize our research area and the fishing and diving available off Georgia's coast.

 


Greater Farallones National Marine Sanctuary: Take a wildlife cruise in Greater Farallones National Marine Sanctuary

view of the farallones islands
Photo by Peter Winch.

7 AM SST / 8 AM HST / 11 AM PDT / 1 PM CDT / 2 PM EDT

Join us for an adventure into the waters of Greater Farallones National Marine Sanctuary. Traveling under the Golden Gate Bridge, we will journey 27 miles offshore to the intriguing Farallon Islands and, seas permitting, beyond! While underway we will see humpback and blue whales, seabirds such as the tufted puffin and common murre, seals, sea lions, dolphins, sharks, and other ocean wildlife!

 


Stellwagen Bank National Marine Sanctuary: Discovering the Portland

8 AM SST / 9 AM HST / 12 PM PDT / 2 PM CDT / 3 PM EDT

Stellwagen Bank National Marine Sanctuary is home to the wreck of the steamship Portland, which sank in 1898. It's location remained a mystery for decades until underwater explorers John Fish and Arnold Carr discovered this elusive wreck in 1989. Hear from the shipwreck hunters about their efforts to discover "New England's Titanic."

 


Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary: A Revival of Maritime Culture

diver
Photo by Robert Schwemmer.

9 AM SST / 10 AM HST / 1 PM PDT / 3 PM CDT / 4 PM EDT

Discover the Chumash Community's Tomol Crossing with Eva Pagaling, a member of the Santa Ynez Band of Samala Chumash Indians. This journey across the Santa Barbara Channel to Santa Cruz Island is done in a tomol, a redwood planked canoe held together by tar and pine pitch.

 


Gone Fishing! in Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary

two men holding fishing rods with fish they caught
Photo by NOAA.

10 AM SST / 11 AM HST / 2 PM PDT / 4 PM CDT / 5 PM EDT

Join us as we fish for answers on how to catch the big one! NOAA Fisheries will provide some great tips to enjoy sustainable recreational fishing in Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary. Topics will include fish identification tricks, safe handling and release techniques, and of course some good ole fishing stories from the wild Olympic Coast!

 


Connecting Conservation and Culture with National Marine Sanctuary of American Samoa

coral reef in american samoa
Photo by Greg McFall.

11 AM SST / 12 PM HST / 3 PM PDT / 5 PM CDT / 6 PM EDT

Travel to National Marine Sanctuary of American Samoa through a virtual tour! Learn about responsible recreation in the sanctuary, local culture, and ocean stewardship. Dive underwater in Fagatele Bay to take a look at the fish and coral that live there. Plus, learn about local food through a cooking demonstration of fa'ausi from Aunu'u! Interact with the hosts in the comments and learn more about the beautiful American Samoa.

 


Be sure to "like" NOAA's Office of National Marine Sanctuary Facebook page to get reminders for all of the Get Into Your Sanctuary events.

**All participants can view and hear the sessions, but only people with a Facebook account will be able to use the interactive chat function.**

Please contact onms.constituents@noaa.gov for more information.

Unable to join the live events? We will post all of the content here at the later date.

KNOW before you GO

NOAA's national marine sanctuary offices and visitor centers are closed to the public while the waters remain open for responsible use in accordance with CDC guidance and local regulations. More information on the response from NOAA's Office of National Marine Sanctuaries can be found on sanctuaries.noaa.gov/coronavirus/.

Please be familiar with and follow regulations and obtain proper licenses.